top of page

"My Child will Never be an Artist, there's no Money in it!"


Photo from Kendall College of Art and Design of 2017 Graduation Ceremony

"No child of mine will be a starving artist! Hahaha!" "My daughter will be a doctor when she gets older!" "My children will receive a real education at a real college."

These are the many comments I receive in response to my elevator pitch (so to speak) of my career and what I want in life. I have been battling this battle since I began taking art seriously and even more so now that I have graduated with a BFA. "What do you do?" can be such a simple question that many people enjoy answering and beginning a conversation about, however, my answer almost always elicits a shocked and sometimes disgusted response.

I answer something like this: "I am an Illustrator and a recent grad of Kendall College of Art and Design with my BFA in Illustration. I specialize in Horror illustration, scary stuff (people most of the time don't hear horror but whore, so clarification is key!) and hope to one day work on book and album covers!"

Then I get an array of replies ranging from:

T: "Oh, you went to college, so like, your'e a professional!?"

M: Yes.

T: "Wow! Thats awesome! I would never let my kids be an artist!"

M: The demand for artists are very high. It is a more difficult road but if it is what you love...

T: "That is so cool! So can you like, draw me a picture?"

M: Yes! If you would like to discuss some ideas you have I would love to discuss a quote!"

T: "Oh... sure... but can't you like, just do it for me? You know, it will help get your name out there!"

Myself at 2017 Commencement

The art field is not all "fine art." The image of an artist painting large paintings expressing their inner most feelings that never sell is a horrible image! Not all artists "starve." The Art Field is such a diversified one that ranges in location, genres and digital or print. Their are video game designers, concept artists, muralist, caricaturist, line artists, environment artists, sculptors, movie production, illustrators, graphic designers, typographers and so many more! Some of these artists work in a professional studio and are given a salary. Some are freelance and are commissioned to do work.

If my parents did not encourage me to continue into art, I am not sure what I would have done. Art is my true passion, it makes me happy and it does not feel like work when I do it. That should, realistically, be the main goal for anybody. If you love what you do, than you will never work a day in your life!

So I encourage any parent worried about their kid entering the art field, to do some research on career paths in the art world and to speak with an artist in that field.

Happy Me!

Thank you for reading, talk to you soon!


bottom of page