top of page

Why I LOVE my Cricut!


Check out the Cricut site to order your very own!

Hey guys! Long time, no talk! In fact, a lot has changed in my studio including more organization, a better plan to get art done and a CRICUT!!! I have been wanting to get one for quite some time and broaden my abilities to make products for my loyal customers. In this post, I will share how my Cricut works and what I love about it.

Modeling my Edgar Allen Poe Glasses!!!

If you are very confused about why I am going on about a Cricut, you may be thinking of a little brown bug called a cricket. (no, I did not buy a cricket. I have had to explain that a few times actually.) I bought a CRICUT, a die-cutting machine that can cut a lot! I mean, a LOT! It can cut paper and even thicker items like leather! This machine is very useful to me as it is another tool for me to make my products.

Wonder Woman Mug I made using my Cricut!

The model I got is the Cricut Explore Air which you can view here. This is the link of the exact one I got. (It's purple!) This model comes bluetooth enabled so I don't have to deal with any cords. This is especially nice since my Cricut sits alongside my printer, across the studio. It is able to cut anything from vellum all the way to leather. There are two carriages so my machine can cut and write simultaneously! And although I do not have any Cricut cartridges (they hold shapes that can be cut) from the older machines, my machine allows me to use them if I ever need too. (Like if I ever find some at a garage sale or resale shop! Still have my fingers crossed!)

Cat Momma Mugs I made!

When doing my research on what machine to buy, I did get discouraged over the not-so-great reviews on the Cricut Design Space. Design Space is the program to design your cuts and tell the machine what to do. Most of what I read were designers wishing they could cut right from Adobe Photoshop or Illustrator. I figured that was the only negative I heard about the machine so I could figure out something to work for me. When you receive your Cricut, they send you supplies to make an introductory project. You use Design Space and follow a tutorial to get you comfortable with not only the machine but the program too. To be honest, I watched quite a few Youtube videos to help get me on track (Auntie Tay is a lifesaver when it comes to Cricut stuff!). I am more comfortable using Design Space, however I still like to design my cuts in Adobe Photoshop and save them as a PNG file then upload them into Design Space to re-size them to what I need.

Little Mermaid cup!!!

My adventures have only just begun! I am mainly focusing on vinyl projects right now because, well, it is so fun and makes great products to offer my customers! I haven't tried many other things yet but I am so excited to venture down this Cricut family path. That is another excellent part of purchasing my Cricut, the Cricut community is an inspiring one to become a part of. Not only can I sell my designs in Design Space but I have access to thousands of tutorials and articles about how to work my machine and projects I can make.

Are you a member of the Cricut family!? I would really love to hear from you and hear your likes and hopefully not many dislikes! Let me know what you think and please, feel free to share any tips!

Thank you for reading! I will see you next time!

bottom of page